4-H Day At The Capitol

White County 4-H’ers with Senator Jonathan Dismang at 4-H Day at the Capitol on February 16, 2017. Pictured left to right: Mallory Pate, Kalista Altom, Katie Dean, Carson McFatridge, Letah Eversole, Ethan Ferren, Daniel Altom, Laura Davis, Emma Ferren, Lydia Wylie, Annabelle Ferren, and Sen. Jonathan Dismang.

Recently there were over 450 Arkansas 4-H members at the Arkansas State Capitol to participant in 4-H Day at the Capitol; this is the second time this event has been held since 2015. White County had eleven 4-H’ers and 5 volunteers attend this year. The tour started off in the Associations of Arkansas Counties building where 4-H members heard from Mark Cochran, the Vice President of Agriculture for the University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture and Andrea Lea, Arkansas State Auditor. From there students made their way to the capitol where Governor Asa Hutchinson, a former 4-H member, kicked off the event. The students also heard from other elected officials such as Speaker of the House, Representative Jeremy Gillam, Lt. Governor Tim Griffin, Senator Bruce Maloch, Attorney General Lisa Rutledge, and Land Commissioner John Thurston.

4-H members also had the opportunity to visit both the State Senate and House of Representatives chambers, as well as other offices in the Capitol, such as the State’s Treasurer’s Office and Governors Reception Room. The students ended their tour of the capitol with the opportunity to sit in and observe the House of Representatives in session.

White County 4-H members were fortunate enough to meet Senator Jonathan Dismang, President Pro Tempore. Senator Dismang was kind enough to take a photo with our students and was considerate enough to take our students on a personal tour of his office. There he informed them of his duties as senator and answered their questions.

This state wide event is one that I am sure will continue for years to come. It is a learning experience that students will never forget and an opportunity to spark our youth’s interest in their future Arkansas government.

The University of Arkansas System, Division of Agriculture is an equal opportunity/equal access/affirmative action institution.